Testimonials

What Our Clients Say About Us

  • "Dr.Blume was the fifth podiatrist I had gone to concerning my metatarsalgia. He was the only one who recommended physical therapy; the only one who sought to get me fitted with orthotics; the only one who referred me to a neurologist to see if there was any possibility of nerve damage in the feet, which there was. The FIFTH podiatrist in the New Haven area to do all of this. He has tremendous command of his field and is to be highly commended for his commitment to his patients. Dr. Robyn Gangi"
    Dr. Robyn Gangi in New Haven, CT | Jan 16, 2019
  • "Dr Blume is a highly regarded foot and ankle surgeon specializing in complex foot and ankle surgery and salvage largely, as in my case, necessitated by diabetes complications. I have had several interactions with him when I was referred by other doctors who were unsuccessful with resolving my problems. He is very busy and one may on occasion have to wait but the job gets done in the most professional manner with the best outcomes possible. I highly recommend him for cases in his area."
    Raymond D in CT | Dec 18, 2018
  • "Dr. Blume is very direct, straightforward and no nonsense. I really like that. He repaired my foot and ankle with excellent skills, the placement of the fixation is absolutely perfect. It took two very complicated surgeries. I don't believe there is another doctor on the East Coast who could have performed it. I now have a normal foot and ankle which is pain free. All of his staff are very nice and extremely helpful!!! If it were possible I'd give them 11 stars. Thank you very, very much."
    Brian J in Gales Ferry, CT | Dec 14, 2018
  • "Dr. Blume and the entire staff go above and beyond what I expected. From very 1st visit Dr. put me at ease with my issue and the options available.
    Such a great experience and post opp care was excellent."
    Donna Piskura | December 2018
  • "Excellent Dr. saved my right foot had a Ganglion Cyst that went down one side of my foot through my heel and up the other side. And tarsal tunnel syndrome and a ton of arthritis. It was getting to the point after about 2 years of PAIN that I couldn't walk anymore barley. And Dr. Blume and staff are a god send HIGHLY Recommend him and he is a awesome Dr. Yale New Haven Hospital York St was Awesome also, the nurses and Dr's there were great."
    Kim in West Haven , CT | Nov 15, 2018
  • "Dr. Blume was able to repair the mess my foot was in, as a result of bunion/hammertoe surgery done by an orthopedic surgeon 6 months earlier. He was cautious and took time to let my bones heal completely before discussing another surgery. He explained exactly what had happened to my foot and how he would repair it. It is now 5 months later and my foot feels & looks great. He took time to answer any questions I had; even when I emailed with additional questions, his staff answered quickly"
    Stamford, CT | Oct 02, 2018
  • "We are forever grateful to Dr. Blume for his exceptional care for our son. He and his staff were compassionate and respectful to all of us throughout. Wait time was reasonable. He made sure he explored every option and possible source of our son's infections, ultimately saving our son from amputation. He worked with us concerning our son's school schedule and did all he could to make this process as easy as possible for us. It is without reservation that we recommend Dr. Peter Blume"
    Julie Johnson in Guilford, CT | Sep 30, 2018
  • "Dr. Blume offered me a wonderful alternative to the total joint fusion that my orthopedist recommended. I had very painful hallux rigidus, that had developed over years, at the base of my big toe. Not being comfortable with the idea of fusion, I went to Dr. Blume for a second opinion, just weeks before my orthopedic surgery was scheduled. He performed a state of the art procedure (Cartiva) that eliminated the pain and restored the motion to my toe. The recovery time was one third that of the fusion surgery, and I am trilled with the results.
    Thank you Dr. Blume!!!"
    Elizabeth Santoro | August 2018
  • "Had several opinions on my flat feet, I saw 3 doctors from Fairfield and Bridgeport area which all said the same thing on how to correct my left foot which I was in a ton of pain with for several years. I finally scheduled Dr. Blume which was the best decision. He had a totally different opinion on what needed to be done. I ended up having major foot surgery on Feb. 14th, and I am so pleased with the results."
    Sharon in Milford CT, CT | Jul 11, 2018
  • "Dr. Blume not only saved my husbands foot, but saved his life! While "ignoring" his chronic diabetes for a few years, he got an infection on the bottom of his foot. The infection was down to the bone and had turned septic. Doc was very upfront as he told my husband who is only in his 40's that if he did not take care of himself and take care of his foot, he would lose it. It was just what my husband needed to hear and was scheduled for surgery a few days later. His recovery was amazing!"
    Apr 20, 2018
  • "I would recommend MD Blume to anyone looking for a great surgeon with a wonderful office staff. I had a great experience with my surgery and all follow-up visits. The staff is very courteous and friendly."
    Apr 06, 2018
  • "Dr Blume is best. Everytime I have a problem with my foot I call him before anyone else, he takes his time to figure out what is wrong and he does everything he can to get you better. There is no one that I trust more than him."
    Anonymous | 2017
  • "I had two fusions done, one in Feb and one in August. I had essentially no pain after the surgeries and my recovery was easy, although long. But there has been no unforeseen results and I'm thrilled with the surgeries. I cannot give Dr. Blume higher praise than this. He's a superb doctor."
    Margaret Weeks | 2017
  • "Great doctor and great surgery and cleared up!"
    Joshua Greenvall | 2017
  • "Pretty amazing Dr. I had some severe foot problems and this guy knows his stuff. I'm walking with zero problems now. The only problems I ever had is that the office is tiny and sometimes the wait can be 1-2 hours even with an appointment. I never let that bother me because the quality of the car I got was good it you should know that in advance"
    JKern in West Haven, CT | Apr 06, 2017
  • "I would recommend Dr. Blume again and again and again! I am forever grateful to him saving my mother’s leg. His knowledge and experience is superb and he is a very kind, gentle man. My mother ignored a wound on her leg and one local doctor wanted to amputate. My mother was referred to Dr. Blume and that referral literally saved her life. If my mother lost her leg, it would have been the beginning of the end for her. Please don’t waste your time with anyone but Dr. Blume."
    Bristol, CT | Aug 15, 2017
  • "I was being treated by a Milford Hospital at their wound care center for about twelve months prior to a wound care physician referring me to Dr. Blume. He re-attached my left foot to my leg, removed the gangrene from my left leg, he caused a Dr. Mena from the Yale hospital to carry out several interventions by using stents and balloons, opened up arteries to both lower legs. Dr. Blume removed parts of both feet and now five years later I can walk with the use of a cane. Dr. Blume is great. Blume removed parts of both feet and now five years later I can walk with the use of a cane. Dr. Blume is great."
    David in Milford, CT | Jul 31, 2017
  • "I had a car accident and resulted in multiple fractures in my right ankle. My first surgeon wanted me to wear orthotics when I told him I was still having so much pain in my foot becoming non-weight bearing and put a chair lift in my house for the stairs, and use a wheel chair. I knew I had to get another opinion and was referred to Dr. Blume from a family member. Dr. Blume is a highly skilled doctor and surgeon. I am still going through physical therapy, but now I am walking, thanks to him!"
    Cheshire, CT | Jul 21, 2017
  • "I had multiple fractures in my right ankle as the result of an auto accident in September, 2015. My first surgery left me in constant pain, from an orthopedist whom I wished I had never gone to. I thought I would always have this pain, I was referred to Dr. Blume through my daughter in law’s Podiatrist. After I had x-rays taken of my foot, he told me that my ankle was stepped, and I would always have pain unless I had it fused. I had my surgery with Dr. Blume in December, 2016. My only regret is that I did not have Dr. Blume do my first surgery. I don’t think I have ever met such a compassionate, knowledgeable, and down to earth doctor as Dr. Blume, who took the time to explain every step of the way and x-rays with myself and my husband. I am still going to physical therapy and not quite pain free yet, but I am walking, going up and down stairs, as result of his good judgement and expertise. I would recommend Dr. Peter A. Blume to other people."
    Submitted July 20, 2017
  • "After a failed foot surgery 8 years ago which left me with an intractable wound on the sole of my right foot which could not be healed despite multiple attempts by wound specialists/clinics over many years, I ended up with a very serious infection which necessitated my hospitalization. I was subsequently referred to Dr. Peter Blume of New Haven, CT and upon my first visit with Dr. Blume, he was able to assess the nature and severity of my infection and within less than half an hour of my visit, he had me admitted to Yale New Haven hospital and scheduled for surgery."
    Submitted June 3, 2017
  • "Excellent experience. I would definitely recommend Dr Blume. His staff is also very helpful and professional. Also worth mentioning Shoreline Surgical where Dr Blume performs his surgeries. From the moment I walked in I was treated with a friendly older gentleman at the desk. He kindly told me where to go and wished me good luck. Experience with nurses was great and the place is immaculate. Dr Blume is definitely worth seeing."
    Diane in Milford, CT | May 06, 2017
  • "The soft mass in the tarsal tunnel area of my foot was misdiagnosed for 17 years. Finally found a podiatrist that referred me to Dr Blume. Within minutes he reviewed my chart, my scan and my ankle and made an accurate diagnosis. He explained what it was, that he had just done the same surgery a couple of weeks prior, he gave me my options, was honest and upfront about the possible outcome, and referred me over to have nerve testing done prior to surgery. On the day of the surgery they called me to come in earlier because he was ahead of schedule, the surgi center was amazing, clean and well run, and my recovery was awesome. I totally trusted him within minutes of meeting him. For me this was hands down one of my best decisions. I am so grateful to him for his experience and care."
    Submitted April 16, 2017
  • "Dr Blume is an exceptional doctor. He is knowledgeable, to the point, readily available at his office & after surgery. Love this doctor. I had surgery that involved a nerve. He knew exactly what my diagnosis was, he explained it to me in terms I could understand, he explained the surgery & my options. In fact, he had done this same surgery a couple weeks before so was very familiar with it. This after many years of mis diagnosis and being told I would have nerve damage."
    Stratford, CT | Apr 16, 2017
  • "I do not have the words to describe my gratitude to DR Blume and his staff for saving my leg and most likely saving my life .We found the vascular group at Yale after we were told by our surgeon in Norwalk that they had done all that could be done for me and the next step would be amputation of my right leg .DR Orion did the vascular surgery needed to restore circulation to my leg and Dr Blume amputated my big toe. After months of excellent follow up care from DR Blume I am walking again."
    Vincent in Wilton, CT | Feb 17, 2017
  • "I had a diabetic foot wound that became infected and went septic. I was fortunate enough to have Dr. Blume treat me at Yale Hospital after a terrible experience at another hospital where I had a series of sloppy debridements and the outcome to save my toes looked poor. I felt positive and well cared for after meeting with Dr. Blume and his residents. Everything he did was carefully explained to me and the best news is he saved my toes! Although I am still healing and had to relocate to the west coast, Dr. Blume has put me in touch with his former colleague Dr. Manny Moy, who is top notch and taking excellent care of me. Thank you Dr. Blume!"
    Lauren Bentley | 2016
  • "Dr Blume saved my leg! I was in a motorcycle accident and Dr Blume was recommended by a Doctor my wife had called just after my accident. The on Duty surgeon told me he was most likely going to amputate at the knee. Dr Blume was out of state but when he was sent pictures of my crushed foot he knew if he didn't do the surgery I would lose the leg. At 2:30 am he got into his car drove to Ct and saved my leg !
    The on duty surgeon asked him if he could sit in and learn from him!
    He is by far the best!"
    Ted Hakey Jr. | 2016
  • "Dr. Blume was very informative and had a great bedside manner. Everyone from the office staff to the surgical center staff were wonderful. I couldn’t have asked for a better doctor."
    Edward in Easton, CT | Jun 24, 2016
  • "Excellent in diagnosing problems. Caring and compassionate manner."
    Nick M in Orange, CT | May 05, 2016
  • "I honestly cannot imagine a 3.5 overall rating for Dr. Blume. He deserves more than the 5 stars of excellence. He operated on my husband and made it comfortable and easy. During all the visits prior to and following the surgery….he was kind, considerate and gentle. East to speak with and a ‘regular’ guy….although everyone knows he’s gifted and certainly not a ‘regular’ guy. I would always recommend him to anyone who has need of his expertise."
    Anthony C. in North Haven, CT | Jan 17, 2016
  • "He is outstanding, caring, tireless, skilled. I recommend him often."
    Nancy P in Woodbridge, CT | Jan 16, 2016
  • "I have used Dr Blume for all my foot problems and he has taken great care of them all. From Plantar fasciitis, to reconstruction of me big toe after degeneration. I was still able to run and play softball in my 50’s with zero pain or restrictions. I trust no one else with my feet."
    Paul in Stratford, CT | Dec 29, 2015
  • "i have taken the time to figure out the maze which lead to this little box where I might share some of my vast experience with of good doctor. I hope my literary skill in summing up Dr. B are up to the task. Perhaps simple and to the point is best, this is a good DOCTOR. I can't speak for any one but me but Dr.Blume is the real mccoy. I have had 1 amputation 3 partial amputations of toes due completely to my own negligence. I was seeing Dr.Blume when I got the second injury(a burn from a space heater) this Dr.B
    helped keep my family together through a harrowing time and he directed me to the best rehab (for ME). He will forever be in our prayers"
    Alfred Carrion | 2015
  • "I have been with Dr.Blume for over 16 yrs and I would never trust my feet to anyone else and I will always recommend him to anyone having foot problems or pain or maybe needing surgery trust only the Best!!!!"
    Bonnnie Vega | 2015
  • "Thanks, Doc! We always knew you had a “leg up” on everyone else!

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: George Grande – March 23, 2012
  • "With a heartfelt thank you, we are so grateful for your generosity, kindness, and devotion to all of us…May God continue to bless you abundantly as you service humanity with your podiatric gifts…

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: Deb and Ian Moye – December 8, 2011
  • "I wanted to let you know how grateful I am for the exceptional care you provided for my husband…He lived at home and had a reasonably good quality of life, thanks in part to your excellent care. I believe that our last years together would not have been possible without your caring and kindness.

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: Alice Simon – March 1, 2011
  • "I write to extend congratulations to you on your selection as a 2011 Health Care Hero by the New Haven Chamber! What an incredible honor, and so well deserved. You and Alyssa have both done so much for the patients and families of the region. it could not have gone to a better role model in the community. Enjoy this honor, and, again, congratulations!

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: Connie Evans – May 1, 2011
  • "I feel it is most important to thank you for all your healing care…I appreciate you and all you have done for me for many years. you are the best of doctors and I plan to return to you.

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: Sally Smithwood – May 25, 2011
  • "Thank you so much for the incredible surgery you performed on my foot, and for all the care you gave me throughout. I’m truly grateful to you and also your staff for being treated so professionally and with the utmost respect and patience. I’m so appreciative and beyond pleased with the results.

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: Suzanne Cassara – August 14, 2011
  • "Thank you for all your good work and hard work!

    5 out of 5 stars"
    Reviewer: Maryanne Hueford – July 10, 2010

Office Hours

Monday:

7:45 AM-5:00 PM

Tuesday:

7:45 AM-5:00 PM

Wednesday:

7:45 AM-5:00 PM

Thursday:

7:45 AM-5:00 PM

Friday:

7:45 AM-5:00 PM

Saturday:

Closed

Sunday:

Closed